How to live to 100?

 


The Project

The COVID-19 pandemic currently gripping the world, in addition to ending the lives of hundreds of thousands of people and causing major socioeconomic upheavals, brings to light the deplorable living conditions of seniors in many countries around the globe. Visits have been banned in residences and care centres for the elderly, the elderly die in complete solitude and thousands of families must go through their grief without being able to gather to mourn their parents or grandparents. This crisis reminds us that aging is terrible. The weakening of family ties, the deterioration of social connections and the precariousness of front-line workers have given rise to a model of geriatric care based on marginalization, a model which has revealed its flaws and forces us to rethink old age.


The Québecoise Arianne Clément has been investigating aging and its challenges for several years, through a series of photographic reports. Which aspects of aging are cultural and which are universal? How do societies, governmental structures, families and the elderly themselves handle aging abroad? What makes some people age gracefully while others decline? Are there places on Earth where aging is easier? What are the different perceptions of aging according to various cultures?


It is with these questions in mind that she has traveled the world in search of different approaches with regards to aging. In recent years she has visited the "blue zones", places renowned for the vitality and well-being of their elderly. The blue zones, designated in 2005 by National Geographic magazine, are the five regions of the world with the highest concentrations of very old people and where life expectancy is exceptionally high because of the lifestyle practiced by their inhabitants.

Counted amongst the blue zones are the province of Ogliastra, on the island of Sardinia in Italy; the Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica; the California Seventh-day Adventist community in Loma Linda and surroundings, United States; the Okinawa archipelago in Japan and the island if Ikaria in Greece. Since 2005, the increased media diffusion of the phenomenon has popularized these "secrets" of longevity:
• a simple existence relatively untouched by modern pressures;
• a healthy, unprocessed and predominantly vegetable diet, often from subsistence farming;
• a very attentive social or family net;
• daily physical activity;
• time spent each day enjoying existence and cultivating one’s mental, spiritual or religious life.

Arianne Clément went to meet the elders of the blue zones, sharing their daily lives, sometimes living under their roof, documenting their lifestyle through photography. She understood how to bond with many of these elderly people and gather testimonies through which they may share their wisdom, experiences, joys, worries and the challenges they face with us. These stories help to correct pervasive prejudices about aging and to demystify certain beliefs surrounding longevity. This photographic journey, coupled with an anthology of life stories, exposes the richness and complexity of the human experience.

The approach of the inevitable is never easy, but the fact remains that there is beauty in aging, and that serenity in the face of death is something that must be cultivated. This is what the inhabitants of the blue zones teach us. Their teaching is all the more precious since the growing impact of globalized modernity, the changing lifestyle habits of the young generations and the disturbances linked to tourism and the media reveal the fragility of the blue zones and the exceptional character of these elders in human history.

This report, which parallels different lifestyles and varied beliefs around the world, is part of a militant approach to promoting seniors. It is a way of paying tribute to the elderly for the knowledge and values they have transmitted to us and for the social and political struggles they have fought. With nuance and without complacency, Arianne Clément wishes to highlight the importance of the contribution of elders to our modern society and to highlight the richness of their knowledge.

In the context of a pandemic, which exposes the vulnerability of seniors more than ever, the experience of the blue zones invites us to rethink our way of doing things, to favour inclusion rather than marginalization, to draw inspiration from the experience of our ancestors, to cultivate strong ties, both at the family and community level and to give ourselves the collective means to allow the elderly to pursue their lives with dignity.

HOW TO LIVE to 100?

Comment vivre 100 ans

La pandémie reliée à la COVID-19 qui secoue actuellement le monde, en plus de supprimer la vie de centaines de milliers de personnes et de causer d’importants bouleversements socioéconomiques, dévoile au grand jour les conditions de vie souvent déplorables des aînés. Dans de nombreux pays, les visites ayant été interdites dans les résidences ou dans les centres de soins pour les personnes âgées, les aînés meurent dans la solitude la plus complète et des milliers de familles doivent vivre leurs deuils sans pouvoir se réunir pour pleurer leurs parents ou leurs grands-parents. Cette crise nous rappelle qu’il ne fait pas bon vieillir. Le relâchement des attaches familiales, la dégradation des liens sociaux et la précarité des travailleurs de première ligne ont donné lieu à un modèle de soins de fin de vie fondé sur la mise à l’écart, modèle qui a révélé ses failles et nous oblige à repenser la vieillesse.

La Québécoise Arianne Clément, par le biais de reportages photographiques, s’interroge depuis plusieurs années sur le vieillissement et ses défis. Quels aspects du vieillissement sont culturels et lesquels sont universels? Comment les sociétés, les structures gouvernementales, les familles et les aînés eux-mêmes gèrent-ils le vieillissement à l’étranger? Qu’est-ce qui fait que certains individus vieillissent dans la sérénité alors que d’autres périclitent? Y a-t-il des endroits sur terre où il est plus facile de vieillir? Selon les cultures, quelles sont les différentes perceptions devant le vieillissement?

C’est avec ces questions en tête qu’elle a parcouru le monde à la recherche de différentes approches relatives au vieillissement. De 2017 à 2019, elle a visité les «zones bleues», ces endroits réputés pour la vitalité et le bien-être de leurs aïeuls. Les zones bleues, désignées en 2005 par le magazine National Geographic, sont les cinq régions du monde où l’on dénombre les plus fortes concentrations de personnes très âgées et où l’espérance de vie est exceptionnellement longue en raison du mode de vie pratiqué par leurs habitants.
 

On compte, parmi les zones bleues, la province d’Ogliastra, sur l’île de la Sardaigne, en Italie; la péninsule de Nicoya, au Costa Rica; la communauté californienne des adventistes du septième jour, à Loma Linda et ses environs, aux États-Unis; l’archipel d’Okinawa, au Japon et l’île d’Icarie, en Grèce. Depuis 2005, la diffusion médiatique accrue du phénomène popularise les « secrets » de la longévité :
-    une existence simple et relativement épargnée par les impératifs modernes;
-    une alimentation saine, non transformée et à prédominance végétale, souvent issue d’une agriculture de subsistance;
-    un filet social ou familial très présent;
-    une activité physique quotidienne, organisée ou spontanée;
-    du temps consacré chaque jour à profiter de la vie et à cultiver sa vie mentale, spirituelle ou religieuse.

Arianne Clément est allée à la rencontre des aînés des zones bleues, partageant leur quotidien, habitant parfois sous leur toit, documentant en photographie leur mode de vie. Elle a su créer des liens avec plusieurs de ces personnes âgées et recueillir des témoignages à travers lesquels elles nous font partager leur sagesse, leurs expériences, leurs joies, leurs inquiétudes et les défis qu’elles rencontrent. Ces récits permettent de rectifier des préjugés colportés sur le vieillissement et de démystifier certaines croyances entourant la longévité. Ce voyage photographique, doublé d’un florilège de récits de vie, expose la richesse et la complexité de l’expérience humaine.

L’approche de l’inéluctable n’est jamais facile, mais il n’en demeure pas moins qu’il y a de la beauté à vieillir et que la sérénité, face à la mort, se cultive. C’est ce que nous enseignent les résidents des zones bleues. Leur enseignement est d’autant plus précieux que l’empreinte croissante de la modernité mondialisée, les habitudes de vie changeantes chez les jeunes générations et les perturbations liées au tourisme et aux médias laissent transparaître la fragilité des zones bleues et le caractère exceptionnel de ces aînés dans l’histoire humaine.

Ce reportage, qui met en parallèle différents modes de vie et des croyances variées à travers le monde, s’inscrit dans une démarche militante de valorisation des aînés. C’est une façon de rendre hommage aux personnes âgées pour les connaissances et les valeurs qu’elles nous ont transmises et pour les luttes sociales et politiques qu’elles ont menées. Avec nuances et sans complaisance, Arianne Clément souhaite faire valoir l’importance de la contribution des doyens et des doyennes dans nos sociétés actuelles et souligner la richesse de leurs savoirs.

Dans un contexte de pandémie, qui expose plus que jamais la vulnérabilité des aînés, l’expérience des zones bleues invite à repenser nos manières de faire, à favoriser l’inclusion plutôt que la mise à l’écart, à s’inspirer de l’expérience des ancêtres, à cultiver des liens forts, tant à l’échelle familiale que communautaire et à se donner les moyens, collectivement, de permettre aux personnes âgées de poursuivre leur vie dans la dignité.


Arianne Clément
Photographie d'Aînés